Mediating Performance

Welcome to the website of the professorship of Theatre Studies and Intermediality Research at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich.

The focus of research is on the performative arts with regard to changing media environments in both historical and contemporary perspectives.

The interest is particularly directed towards questions of the mediation of theater: How do the performative arts translate themselves into the social and what knowledge is involved? Central interdisciplinary points of reference are historical epistemology and science and technology studies.

Attention is paid to experimental forms of the performative arts (re-enactments, interventions, etc.) on the one hand, and to the production processes and operational structures of the theater as an institution on the other.

Closely connected to this is a strong methodological interest in ethnographic procedures as well as methods of the Digital Humanities, which in the medium term aims at profiling an empirical theater research.

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Mediating Performance

Willkommen auf der Seite der Professur für Theaterwissenschaft und Intermedialitätsforschung an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.

Der Schwerpunkt der Forschung liegt auf den performativen Künsten in Hinblick auf sich wandelnde Medienumwelten in historischer wie zeitgenössischer Perspektive.

Das Interesse richtet sich insbesondere auf Fragen der Mediation von Theater: Wie übersetzen sich die performativen Künste ins Soziale und welches Wissen ist dabei im Spiel? Zentrale interdisziplinäre Bezugspunkte sind historische Epistemologie und Science and Technologie Studies.

Die Aufmerksamkeit liegt dabei einerseits auf experimentellen Formen der performativen Künste (Reenactments, Interventionen, etc.) und andererseits auf den Produktionsprozessen und Betriebsstrukturen des Theaters als Institution.

Eng damit verbunden ist ein stark methodisches Interesse für ethnographische Verfahren sowie Methoden der Digital Humanities, das mittelfristig auf die Profilierung einer empirischen Theaterforschung zielt.

Wir freuen uns über jede Kontaktaufnahme!